the 17th century, Lirac had a population of 477 inhabitants, it was
a time when wine was known and very much appreciated by the kings
of France: Henry IV appreciated it particularly as well as Louis XIV,
later on. As is often the case, wine is of good reputation
authorities forbid  and control the import of wine or grapes that
are not from the lands of Lirac, and wine harvest dates are scheduled
by the consuls. In 1731, two villages got together in a common trade
association  to defend Côte du Rhône wines, and in
1737 a royal decree authorizes the official CDR hot iron seal (Côte
du Rhône). In the 17th and 18th century, the wines of the region,
particularly Lirac and Tavel, are exported throughout France and Europe
where they are sought after for their exquisite flavours.
At the end of the 19th century the phylloxera made devastating damage
to all the vineyards in France, the wine growers in Lirac had to wait
until American vine transplants helped resume the winegrowing industry
in the area. Finally, on October 14 1947, the Lirac appellation is
officially acknowledged by decree, the AOC status rewards the efforts
of the villages of Lirac, Saint Laurent des Arbres, Saint Géniès
de Comolas and Roquemaure, and recognizes the quality of their wines.
Lirac wine is born-again through the continuous efforts of a few wine
growers that want to make their wines worthy of this appellation,
making other professionals discover the extraordinary potential of
In the ancient regime, consuls were in charge of the village under
the authority of their lord.
 Tavel, Roquemaure, Montfaucon, Saint Laurent des Arbres, St Génies
de Comolas, Lirac; then later Orsan, Chusclan, Codolet, Saint Victor
la Coste will join.